MISSISSIPPI COURT ADMINISTRATORS ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF THE 2025 Spring Conference Business Meeting

April 24, 2025

The Mississippi Court Administrators Association held its 2025 Spring Business meeting at the Golden Nugget in Biloxi, Mississippi. The meeting was called to order by the President Lynn Conner who opened the meeting for business with a quorum established.

The Secretary's Report - Candace Payne-Johnson: The minutes from the 2024 Fall Conference were posted on the webpage at **www.mscaa.org** A motion was made to accept the minutes as written and with a second, the motion was carried.

The Treasurer's Report - Kinsasha West: The Treasurer's Report was distributed via email. A motion was made to accept the report with a second, the motion was carried.

President Lynn Conner called for reports from Committees:

<u>The Membership Committee – D'Andrea Gilmore, 2nd Vice President:</u>

D'Andrea Gilmore asked that all new members to the association please stand and introduce themselves.

D'Andrea Gilmore made a motion that new members be admitted to the association as regular members, with a second, the motion on the floor is to accept these persons as regular members of the association. The motion carries, new members are welcomed to the MS Court Administrators Association.

D'Andrea Gilmore urged association members to get acquainted with their Court Liaison. Your Liaison is who you can go to with questions or for guidance.

The Court Liaisons are part of the Associations Board of Directors. Their term of service is 2 years.

D'Andrea Gilmore reminded members to submit news, and announcements for the associations' monthly motivations.

Reminder, association dues have increased to \$50 annually. If you have not yet paid, and would like to do so, please see Kinshasa West.

The 2024 Continuing Education Committee:

Brooke Pollard, 1st Vice President as Chair, the Executive Board and two at-large members serve on the Continuing Education Committee for a term of one year:

- 1. Donna Walker
- 2. Ashley Roberts

Brooke Pollard thanked the at-large members for their 2024 term of service. Brooke also encouraged association members to submit recommendations for upcoming conference speakers and topics.

The 2024 Nominating Committee:

Shanna Spann, Immediate Past President and four members serve on the Nominating Committee for a term on 1 year.

- 1. Tonya Anderson,
- 2. Stacie Shoemaker,
- 3. Valeri Underwood
- 4. Betsy Boone.

Shanna Spann asked for the committee members to stand, as she thanked them for their 2024 term of service and urged others to be a change agent.

The 2024 Awards Committee:

Joy Danzey, Chairperson, and four members serve on the Awards Committee for a term of 1 year.

- 1. Cindy Bray
- 2. Molly Jackson
- 3. Mona Martin
- 4. Leigh Ann Atherton

Joy asked the committee members to stand and thanked them for their 2024 term of service. Recipients of the <u>Justice Achievement Award</u>, <u>The Award of Excellence</u> and <u>The Robert D. Church Memorial Scholarship</u> Awards will be announced during the Luncheon immediately following the business meeting.

Recognition of the 2025-2027 MSCAA Board of Directors:

Brooke Pollard MSCAA, President

Kinshasa West, Second Vice President

Mary Brauer, Treasurer

D. LaShae Gilmore, First Vice President

Candace Payne-Johnson, Secretary

Lynne Conner, Immediate Past President

<u>PARLIAMENTARIAN APPOINTMENT BY PRESIDENT BROOKE POLLARD</u> <u>Tonya Anderson, Parliamentarian</u> – appointment term ends in April 2026

No further old business and no new business was brought before the body.

A motion was made to adjourn the 2025 Spring Business Meeting, with a second presented and the meeting was adjourned.