MISSISSIPPI COURT ADMINISTRATOR'S ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF THE 2022 SPRING CONFERENCE BUSINESS MEETING

APRIL 27, 2022

The Mississippi Court Administrator's Association held its 2022 Spring Business Meeting at the Beau Rivage in Biloxi, Mississippi. The meeting was called to order by the Immediate Past President Tonya Anderson who opened the meeting for business and a quorum was established.

<u>The Secretary's Report</u>: The minutes from the 2021 Fall Conference were prepared by Brooke Williams and were distributed via email. A motion was made to accept the minutes as written and with a second, the motion was carried.

<u>The Treasurer's Report</u>: The Treasurer's Report was prepared by Brooke Pollard and it was distributed via email. A motion was made to accept the report and with a second, the motion was carried.

<u>Continuing Education Committee</u>: Shanna Spann talked about Justice Pierce implementing new testing procedures. It was also asked that if anyone had any suggestions for speakers or topics to please forward the information to her.

<u>Membership Committee:</u> Lynn Conner asked that all the new members stand and introduce themselves. She asked the Immediate Past President Tonya Anderson to admit the new members into the Association. The motion was made with a second and the motion was carried with no "nays". All new members were welcomed into the Association and invited to have breakfast the following morning with the Board members.

<u>Awards Committee:</u> Faye Jackson (in absence of Awards Chair, LaShae Gilmore) presented the Justice Achievement Award, Award of Excellence and the Robert D. Church Memorial Scholarship at the 2022 Spring MSCAA Luncheon.

<u>Nominating Committee:</u> Tonya Anderson, Chair, announced to the Association that an Emergency Zoom Meeting was held by the Board via Zoom. Katrina Philips, President of the Association was leaving the Court and pursing another career. Due to those circle of events a new Board was voted in as follows:

<u>MSCAA Board of Directors:</u>

President: Shanna Spann First Vice President: Lynn Conner Second Vice President: Lynn Conner Secretary: Brooke Williams Treasurer: Brooke Pollard Immediate Past President: Tonya Anderson

The following members were placed on our committees:

<u>Membership Committee:</u> Lynn Conner, Acting Chair; Tonya Anderson, Chancery Court Liaison; Circuit Court Liaison, Angela Howard; County Court Liaison, Courtney Flore; Circuit Court Liaison, Valeri Underwood.

Nominating Committee: Tonya Anderson, Chair; Regina Nero Price, Ashley Roberts, Mona Martin and Laurie Chassion.

Awards Committee: LaShae Gilmore, Chair; Lori Hill, Faye Jackson, Paula Cable and Kinshasa West.

Continuing Education Committee: Shanna Spann, Lynn Conner, Brooke Williams, Brooke Pollard, Tonya Anderson, At-Large Member, Donna Walker and At-Large Member, Courtney Flore.

All Board Members and Committee Members will remain in office until April, 2023.

No additional nominations were made. Slate of Officers were approved.

No further old business and no new business was brought before the body.

The Fall 2022 Conference will be held at the Golden Nugget in Biloxi, Mississippi

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting, with a second presented and that the meeting was adjourned.